Assistive Technology Program

What is the Assistive Technology Program?

The Assistive Technology Program loans sophisticated electronic equipment to health care professionals for evaluation and assessment purposes. It's primary intention is to serve special needs children that go to school here in New Brunswick. Assistive Technology can be expensive so it is important to make sure it is both suitable and appropriate before committing to it financially. The Assistive Technology Assessment Loan Program lends its items for a two month period and a $36.00 fee may be applicable.

This program, in combination with the New Brunswick Easter Seals’ Assistive Technology Lending Bank, was established to provide trial equipment and evaluation tools, for client assessment purposes, to various education and health-care professionals such as Occupational Therapists, Methods & Resource Teachers, Speech & Language Pathologists, etc.

The Assistive Technology Program is responsible for purchasing, installing, tracking, maintaining and servicing assistive technology equipment owned by the Department of Education and le Ministère de l’Éducation de Nouveau-Brunswick. This program allows all students with exceptionalities to receive necessary assistive aids and specialized electronics like voice output communication devices, environmental controls, alternative computer access methods, literacy tools and software systems, and will also, upon request, provide consultation services and training support to any school in the province.

To take advantage of this program or for more information please contact Andrew Lavigne via email or by telephone at: (506) 458-8739.

How it Works

The NB Easter Seals offers an Equipment Assessment Loans Bank that gives persons with disabilities a chance to evaluate and/or use rehabilitative devices. All our assessments are supervised by a health professional in the appropriate field of expertise.

  • Arranges short-term loans of equipment for assessment by individual and health professionals
  • Provides a chance to try before you buy equipment

For those disabled persons wishing to access the assistive technology assessment bank, and who do not take part in the public school system here in New Brunswick, may have equipment loaned to them for a period of two months and are asked to pay a nominal fee of thirty-six dollars to help keep the program running as effectively as possible.

For more information Contact Us.


CHANGES TO OUR ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY PROGRAM

Easter Seals NB has recently undergone a review of service delivery.  As a result of this review, we are in the process of making some changes to the Assistive Technology Program. 


Effective immediately, December 2014, all clients wanting to borrow assistive technology from ESNB must fill in an application.  A PSP application must be filled out for a long term loan, or a PSP assessment application must be filled out for a short term loan.   Once completed, they must be submitted by fax (506-457-2863) or email to the Client Coordinator at: clientcoord@easterseals.nb.ca or by calling 506-457-9320.


If you need help to determine what type of equipment or program is the most appropriate for your client, you may contact the Assistive Technology Coordinator at techcoord@easterseals.nb.ca 

 
Please keep in mind that all requests for equipment for ALS clients must go to the ALS NS-NB Society first.  You can reach them at clientservices@alsns.ca or by calling 902-454-3636.


This process will provide fair and equitable access to services for all clients, and ensure ESNB can track equipment that is loaned.

Programme d'assistance technologique

Qu’est-ce que le Programme d'assistance technologique?

Le Programme d'assistance technologique, en collaboration avec la Banque de prêts de technologies fonctionnelles de Timbres de Pâques Nouveau-Brunswick, a été conçu pour fournir du matériel d’essai et des outils d’évaluation de client à différents professionnels de l’éducation et de la santé, comme des ergothérapeutes, des orthopédagogues ou des orthophonistes.

Le Programme d'assistance technologique a pour mission d’acheter le matériel de technologie fonctionnelle appartenant aux secteurs anglophone et francophone du ministère de l’Éducation du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’installer et d’en assurer le suivi et l’entretien. Grâce à ce programme, tous les élèves ayant des besoins spéciaux peuvent obtenir des aides à la réadaptation et des appareils électroniques spécialisés comme des dispositifs de communication à sortie vocale, des systèmes de contrôle de l’environnement, des méthodes alternatives d’accès à l’ordinateur et des outils et logiciels d’alphabétisation. Toutes les écoles de la province peuvent aussi, sur demande, obtenir des conseils et du soutien à la formation.

Son fonctionnement

Timbres de Pâques N.-B. offre aussi une banque de prêt d'équipement d'évaluation qui permet d'utiliser et d'évaluer les appareils de réadaptation. Toutes nos évaluations sont supervisées par un professionnel de la santé compétent dans le domaine.

  • Coordonne les prêts à court terme d'équipement pour leur évaluation par des particuliers et des professionnels de santé
  • Permet d'essayer les appareils avant de les acheter

Les personnes handicapées qui veulent avoir accès à la Banque de prêts d’équipement d’évaluation et qui ne fréquentent pas le système d’éducation public du Nouveau Brunswick peuvent emprunter du matériel pour une période de deux mois pour aussi peu que 36 $, somme qui assure le fonctionnement efficace du programme.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce programme, veuillez nous contacter.


CHANGEMENTS A NOTRE PROGRAMME D'ASSISTANCE TECHNOLOGIQUE

Timbres de Pâques N.-B. a récemment analysé son service de livraison.  Suite à cette analyse, nous sommes en processus de faire quelques changements à notre programme d’Assistance Technologique.

En vigueur immédiatement, décembre 2014, tous clients voulant emprunter de l’assistance technologique de TPNB devront remplir un formulaire.  Un formulaire PSP doit être rempli pour un prêt à long terme, ou un formulaire d’évaluation PSP doit être rempli pour un prêt à court terme. Une fois complété, ils peuvent être soumis par télécopieur (506) 457-2863 ou par courriel à la Coordinatrice à la clientele à : clientcoord@easterseals.nb.ca.

Si vous avez besoin d’aide à determiner quel type d’équipement ou programme est le mieux approprié pour votre client, vous pouvez contacter le Coordinateur d’Assistance Tenologique à techcoord@easterseals.nb.ca.

Veuillez noter que toutes demandes d’équipement pour les clients SLA doivent aller à la Société SLA NÉ-NB en premier.  Vous pouvez les rejoinder à : clientservices@alsns.ca ou en appelant au 902-454-3636.

Ce processus fournira un accès favorable et equitable aux services pour tous les clients, et s’assurer que TPNB puisse suivre l’équipement qui est prêté.